Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Incumbents retain seats

June 8th, 2011
Three incumbents and a newcomer will sit on the Poarch Creek Indian Tribal Council for the next three years. The tribal election was held Saturday, June 4.
Incumbent Tribal Chairman Buford Rolin received 771 votes to win over three challengers. Eddie Tullis, former tribal chairman and at-large member, received 231 votes; Berry Ross received 46 votes; and William Bailey received 47 votes.
The offices of chairman, vice-chairman, secretary, and treasurer are elected directly by popular vote. The other seats are at-large.
Incumbent at-large members Arthur Mothershed and Garvis Sells won their seats, with 653 votes and 618 votes respectively.
Challenger Sandy Fretwell Hollinger received 420 votes to win an at-large seat.
Annually, three seats are up on the nine-person council. However, this year, four seats were up due to the resignation of at-large council member Berry Ross.
Other results are as follows: Dewitt Carter, 111 votes; Clayton Coon, 285 votes; Helen Hallman, 206 votes; Edie Jackson, 94 votes; Danny Winston Lambert, 199 votes; Paul Lundy, 35 votes; Eialeash (Leasha) E. Martin, 77 votes; David Morris, 81 votes; Arthur Ray Patrick Jr., 8 votes; Barbara McGhee Stephens, 51 votes; Debra Rolin Strickland, 213 votes; William L. Vickery, 58 votes; Carolyn McGhee White, 92 votes; Emma Ruth Madison Hogan, 36 votes.
A total of 1,214 General Council members voted in the election.

No comments:

Post a Comment